top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Lewis

Good/Bad News!

The good news is, I figured out why every time I am Lifeguarding, I get sad.


It has to do with no distractions.



It’s the same reason I felt sad yesterday.



In fact, it’s the same reason I feel sad every time I run out of discords to catch up on and across the board, I've done everything.



The bad news is why.



Whenever I am left alone with my thoughts, I feel well and truly alone.


When I am not actively on my phone with a task, I feel lonely.



I might actually be as bad as my blogs imply--or actually even worse.



It’s horrifying to think about.



When I feel alone, I reflect.


I think of the future, and all the sadness and pain likely to be there.


I think of everything I want to say, and the pain of knowing I likely never will.


I look back at what I ought to have said and done, and regret having not.



I look at all the hurtful things I have done, the pain it inflicted in others, see what I have lost from my actions or inactions, all the hurt I have inflicted, and how I have brought endless amounts of pain.



And when I am alone, that’s all I see.



I can’t see the other half of the coin, of the good I've done.



Every interaction I make, I question if it was good.



I kick myself for having said anything, because clearly my words only make things worse.



I feel isolated, trapped in my own mind.



I feel pain and regret.


I feel the hurt of others, the pain of everyone I've harmed, layered on top of my own pain.


My regrets are all I see.



And I feel truly alone.



Crying.



Just overwhelmingly a failure who is good for nothing but causing harm. 



Objectively, I know that’s not true.


I can see all the good I do when I'm in the moment of having done it.



But the moment I am not helping others, my good deeds are invisible to me.



I see only the bad.



I know that a lot of people have seen the worst of me, and chosen to break off from me in numerous levels, in various shapes. All justified, all warranted. There’s a great load of negative to see.



The problem is, I can’t join them in having created that distance from the bad. I can’t cut myself off.



So I carry it around me, all the bad, and I see only the bad and I feel so alone, because nobody who sees this bad wants to embrace me with it. Why would they? I wouldn’t embrace me, why should they so much as tolerate me?



Of course that’s not all there is to me.


I know that I do good.



But when I am not actively doing that good, all I see is the bad. I join the long list of people who focus on the negative, judge my character by it, and conclude that I am not worth having.



So, I am...just so scared.


And have this great sadness.



I love everyone so much, but I don’t feel like any of them should love me.



So to everyone, once again, all I can say is I'm sorry.

Recent Posts

See All

A semisecret blog

Sorry, I just... ...have been in a low spot. I've been depressed. I've been feeling lonely. I've been feeling like I've wasted my time...

Well, it's Christmas.

And it seems so far, sad as it may be, my wishes are indeed impossible. The gifts my family got me weren't bad. In fact, a lot of them...

The new year approaches...

...and I am honestly not ready. There’s so much to do. We've got various legal things to do. We need to get my fiancé set up on local...

bottom of page