top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Lewis

I have a lot of thoughts...

...but often, I struggle to write them down.



I'm not gonna lie, things are very difficult right now in my life. Financially, I went into the red, and all efforts to make more money have largely stalled and not panned out. I've got a raise incoming, but it's not here yet. I'm unable to work more hours than I currently am. I don't make money streaming.



The process for donating things for money isn't as simple as just walking in and doing it--there's a bunch which needs to be done, and I haven't been proactive in pursuing it.



We need to look into if we qualify for SNAP benefits and to see what we can get from the food bank.



We need to work out how to cut costs, how to budget, etc.



All things we've been trying to do, but not succeeding quickly enough.



My fiance and I have been cutting more and more costs since January, yet despite us spending less and less, we still bled money gradually, and this month it was the point where we finally went red.



My fiance has been applying for work for nine months, to no avail. They haven't been able to land a job or even get remotely close.



Among the things we need to do is to go to an in-person place to see wtf we need to do to help them land a job.



And like...on top of all that?



I have crippling depression.



And I know, that line has become a meme recently, but I have been using it since before it was a meme. I have crippling depression. It hits me even without thoughts attached, but is made worse by the thoughts attached.



No matter how many times I try, no matter how many times I have my mental coping strategies in place, I can't shake the thoughts of the past and their bleedthrough into the present while imagining futures that likely never will be.



I KNOW that it's not healthy to dwell on the past. I KNOW it's not good to ponder all my failures. I KNOW that thinking about the "what if"s is unhealthy. I KNOW. Yet, I still do it anyway. I can't help it. I keep thinking about them, over and over and over again. Those I hurt, and how they are hurting, and how desperately I want for things to be healed and for us to be friends again. The thoughts are all over the place, yet remain largely consistent in those themes.



Beyond that, the thoughts vary. Sometimes about how pointless it all is. Sometimes wondering if I'm deluding myself into thinking I'm good, deluding myself into thinking I'm better. Often figuring there must be things I'm not getting, things I'm not understanding, things I don't know, things I am not seeing, etc. There has to be some things that I don't get to know, yet which affect the situation. Etc.



But, the depression is still there, because I got hurt, I hurt them, my having hurt them makes my own hurt worse, and that hurt is ongoing.



My ideal self maintains such a beautiful view of the world. Nothing is impossible to heal. No challenge is truly impossible to overcome. No bridge is permanently burned. People who saw the best in each other can see it again. People are lovely, beautiful, and loving. Kind, caring, empathetic. They can see so much and understand so much. So surely, when ready, there must be a way to rebuild. There must be a way to mend, there must be a way to heal. And it can be together, not separately.



My ideal self feels that there needn't be a forced permanent separation. I still think fondly of them, love them even, and see how wonderful they are. I want nothing more than to support them. I want to shower them with praise, to be their hype woman. To help them, to reassure them through the challenges, to hug them, to give them the love they deserve. I want to be there for them, to offer my time to them, to give them the joy and positivity I have to offer the world. And my ideal self feels that should be possible.



And yet. There's the greater pain specifically because of that ideal self and how in the actual world...it isn't there. I can't give that love and support to those who want nothing from me, and there's nothing I can do. So my ideal self is facing the cold harsh reality that some people just...don't want to try and heal with us. They have no interest. They want nothing to do with us. They don't think fondly of me. They have no love of me. They have only hatred.



And maybe they don't consider themselves having hatred for me. They would never say anything but "I wish you the best". But for whatever reason, they don't actually. They don't wish the best for me. They don't see the best in me. They don't see the best of me. They don't see it, or want it. To my ideal self, it's something she doesn't understand.



My ideal self believes that most people are good. All people are flawed, but most people are good. And to her, she struggles to understand why it is so hard to see it in others. She can see it in others, why can't others see it as well? She understands not everyone sees things as she does, but she doesn't understand why they can't see things more her way, especially since the world is all the more beautiful and wonderful when you focus on the good rather than the bad. (Within reason. Not toxic positivity, but more an acknowledgement of both existing.)



​She wonders why people who wish us the best, don't follow through with what wishing the best actually would be. But, she also doesn't blame them. She just is hurt, confused, and struggling.



Because the more that ideal self can't have the wonderful world she dreams of, the more the pain grows, because she knows it should be possible. My ideal self isn't thinking of an impossible world which could never exist. She isn't thinking of a magical fantasyland where people are perfect. She sees things as they are, people as they are, for the wonderful beings they are. And that's why she hurts as much as she does. She isn't thinking of an impossible to obtain standard of perfection. She is thinking of a realistically doable thing that in theory should be doable with ease.



And yet it isn't.



And so the pain grows.



And on top of that pain is the pain of depression.



We think of all our failures.


We think of all our shortcomings.


We think of all our inadequacies.


We think of all our mistakes.


We think about everything we have done wrong.



We try our best. And we are good. But we are not perfect, so we keep making mistakes.


Our flaws are glaring to us.


Our imperfections have consequences.



We understand that actions have consequences, but what we don't understand is why those consequences are as longlasting as they are. Why they continue to hurt all involved. Consequences should be working towards bettering those involved, to correct behavior, to learn from mistakes, to course correct and become better, and if those consequences aren't achieving those goals, then shouldn't the consequences be...not what they are?



It's something we wrestle with. The beauty in this world is just so...wonderful.



And we are facing the constant pain of...it not panning out.



We think of all the ways we have made things worse.


We think about all the times we have done things which destroy rather than build.



We think about all of that.



And are dragged down by our own thoughts. Calling myself a failure. Saying we suck. Saying we deserve all these punishments. That we don't deserve to heal, that we don't deserve those friendships, that we don't deserve to have good. We don't deserve to have the best wished on us. We aren't enough. We never will be.



We always think about that. About how we can never be enough.


About how we will never be enough.


We never will be able to give people what they need.



And it feels...so terrible.



Because we want to.



We want to give people the world.


We want to give people that wonder, that joy, that positivity, that love.



And we have so much to give.



It just feels like it's not enough.



Nothing we do is enough.



We've accomplished a lot.



Every day, we help reassure people. We give our joy, our positivity, our feedback.



We have literally saved lives before.



We have people who see us as the wonderful beautiful souls we are. Who love us, adore us, and who appreciate being our friends.



We have done a lot of work on poetry, on songs, and even been writing a lot.



And we've gotten a great deal of art done. Which is great for my twitch stream.



An artistic rendition of myself with lesbian hair and a pink streak within holding a red heart with the text 'LOVE' on it.
rBree2Love v1

An artistic rendition of myself waving the o/ emote with me having lesbian pride flag hair with a pink streak in the hair.
rBree2Wave (o/)


An artistic rendition of myself facepalming, with lesbian pride flag hair and pink streaks in the hair. My fingernails are painted trans flag colors. My ring finger has my engagement ring on it, with the black gem on it.
rBree2FacePalm v1

I might not have finished any of them, and I know all of them have their flaws, but I still have a lot to be proud of. As long as I have been making art, I have been GREAT, even stellar, at creating good expressions. Despite my anatomy, linework, coloring, etc., all being lackluster, despite all my artistic weaknesses, I'm good at making expressions, and the emotes are showing those, conveying their core message and meaning, incredibly well.



I know that my Love emote needs more work.



I know my facepalm emote needs a lot more work.



But they are still great as-is.



And I should be proud of them.



I should be proud of all the work I have done and am doing. I've continued adjusting my stream, I've continued to level up my discord, I've added new alerts, new bit badge art, new channel point art, new bot commands, new bits of fun, etc. I continue to learn, and build, and create. I get better, slowly. Bit by bit. I improve.



Yet no matter how much I am improving.



I still think of all the failures.



I think of all the things I can't do, because the people involved don't want me to.


I think of all the things I can do but which I don't do, because I'm doing other things.



All my little failures in hygiene.



All my failures in pursuing extra income.



All my failures in pursuing budgeting.



All my failures in pursuing financial burden relief.



All of my shortcomings, all the things I miss out on.



All of the ways I choose to spend my time, which aren't spending time elsewhere.



As I write this blog I'm not engaged with my fiance and a friend in spending time together.


As I write this blog, I'm not responding to DMs from a new friend.


As I do art for streams, I'm not doing writing and worldbuilding and organizing.


As I do Stardew Valley work, I'm not doing writing or art or plurality work.



As I do what I am, I'm not doing things like recording and posting videos.



I've fallen behind on recording and uploading videos. I can do a catchup video when I resume, a good vlog, but I still need to do it and currently I'm not.



I've fallen behind on daily blogging.



This is a good start, but I need to keep blogging every day. This blog was a daily blog for nearly eight years straight. It's only in the last year or two I've fallen off, and I don't want to. My blog is great. My blog is amazing. I need to keep it up.



I feel like I am not doing enough to network with people, to retain people, to engage people, to be on top of finances, to be on top of health, etc. I feel like I'm not doing enough in any aspect of my life.



I feel like I've gotten worse at assuring people. I feel like my skills at reassuring, at affirming, have atrophied. I feel like I am not there for people when they need me to be there for them.



And I just feel...so inadequate.



The difficulties in life keep piling up.



And often, I feel like I need to be strong and just bear the blunt of the blow life keeps dealing. I need to be calm, cool, reassuring, positive, and in control whenever my fiance has their own struggles from all of their perceived shortcomings. (They have far fewer than they think, but I need to be in a mindset where I can tell them that when they think about those issues.) I need to be the friend who knows things. I need to be the friend who knows what to say, is there, can give the time.



I need to be everything, to be that Breeacon of light and positivity. I need to be that source of joy, that wholesome yet cursed source of entertainment and good vibes. I need to be able to give my time to support and uplift others. I need to be able to be there for them.



And often...I feel like...given my own shortcomings...I can't be.



Which hurts.



I'm trying my best, but I can never be everything I need to be.



I struggle to accept that I am enough as I am.



Now, granted. I still have a lot I do well. But I just feel...no matter what, I can't be as strong as I need to be. I put on a brave face. I put on the aura of this person who has life together somewhat, who knows basically everything, who has made mistakes and learned from them and is a source of wisdom and knowledge and can give learnings and reassurance and affirmations and so on and so forth.



But...I am human, in body, even if my mind is more. And that human body with its flawed mind is...so, so damaged and broken.



I keep burying the pain, distracting myself, but the pain is still there. I don't have a way to let it out because I quite literally can't afford to. If I don't keep things together, they'll fall apart for everyone. So I have to stay on top of things.



I manage well enough, but like...



...I just have...so, so much I need to do...better than I am.



I hope that, maybe, just maybe, this can go out to someone who can see me, see the human I am, and provide them the reassurance that they are doing better than they realize.



Because if I am going through all of this, then maybe it can help others realize they are not alone in going through similar.



But, I can't really give you more than that. These thoughts are all I have to offer.



They're ramblings, mostly negative, but with the tint of the positive, from my love, from the beauty, from all there is to see that is wonderful and amazing and incredible. If that makes your day, then thank you. You are truly welcomed. <3

Recent Posts

See All

I'm extra tired today.

But, extra productive! I've been doing a ton. Not quite everything, but a lot. I've been regularly doing my workout. I've gone up to...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page