top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Lewis

Today was quite frustrating.

It was entirely eaten up by work.


I woke up and prepped for work.

Left for work.

And then worked my normal shift.


And then I basically got volunteered to work five hours more. Technically speaking, I could've said no. But realistically speaking, I couldn't.


So then, I worked a second time.

Drove home for work.

And now I am prepping for bed--because of work tomorrow.


I know I could've said no, so I know I have nobody to blame but myself. I know that I am being a (pardon the language) bitch. I shouldn't complain, I have no right to complain. I did it to myself, effectively.


But that doesn't mean I am happy about it.


I felt like I had to do it because I am a lead lifeguard and I was already there and leads fill in when nobody else can and nobody else could. I genuinely had no reason to plausibly refuse. I really didn't want to, but I basically had to. I know, this is unprofessional of me--it makes me sound like I am a victim, that my workplace is to blame, etc. They aren't. It's my doing, so like.


My frustration is my at myself. For working a shift I knew I'd hate, for missing the things I know I missed, and now after the fact: for complaining about the day that I was able of not having.


​But I need to go to bed.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Well, today's been productive!

To some extent, yeah, distractions from mental spiraling, but actually, by and large, the two were actually separated from each other! I...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page