top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Lewis

I'm not well off.

I'm just...in pain.

Bipolar Disorder has struck and both halves are in full swing--badly.


In many ways, today was productive. I did nothing yesterday due to exhaustion. Today, I accomplished almost everything I set out to do. (Slacked a bit on hygiene, still haven't worked on my novel, but otherwise have done everything.)


So today is not me calling my lack of work a failure like the norm.

No, today was a success.


Mostly.


It's just that.


Well.


If you know what the date of this blog correlates to, it shouldn't be that hard to understand.


I've been spending a lot of time and energy defending my right to exist, defending against bigotry.

I'm exhausted emotionally. Drained. Dead. It's just...stress. Pain. Frustration. Exasperation.


I shouldn't need to justify my existence at every stage.

I should have people able to trust me.

I shouldn't have to need to explain. I shouldn't need to be proactive. I shouldn't need to fight. I shouldn't need to argue.


But I do. Because people don't understand how bad anti-trans sentiment is right now and how strong bigotry and hatred of all kind are growing from apathy. I am not the best advocate. I am not the best person to explain things. I am not the best person to debate. But I couldn't stay silent. I couldn't.


And I am now drained as a result. Mania.


But the real pain comes from the realization that, after getting that exhausted, I've done nothing good. Nothing productive came from my advocacy of my existence. I accomplished nothing. I stressed myself. I exhausted myself. And all I did was drive a wedge in a community I love and cherish.


Nothing else. It was a waste. It hurt someone who I didn't want to hurt. (And they weren't who I was arguing with.) I knew it would cause damage. I mean, I didn't go in thinking "I know this will cause damage, but I'm going to do it anyway". It wasn't so much I knew and deliberately did, so much as I did it without actively knowing, but on at least some level I did.


​How many people do I hurt this way.


I'm in pain.


Severe pain.


I'm destroying myself.


I need to stop.


I needed to stop.


I just.


I kinda want to stop existing right now.


I've no real reason to.

But the pain, the guilt, the exhaustion, it's adding up.


I don't want to live right now.


I need help.


I badly need help.


Even if I am forgiven by others I can't forgive myself, and even if I could, the pain I'm feeling isn't triggered specifically by bad things. It'd be happening anyway. But it's certainly made worse by the events going on right now.


I normally don't speak up. I normally don't advocate. Days like today are exactly why I don't. I know how damaging it can be for me to try. Still tho. I felt obligated to speak up. Trans people are under attack in a way right now that I felt I needed to speak up about.


It's just.


​I exhausted myself. I tired myself. I stressed myself. All over it. And then debated. And the debate could cause harm. And did. So. I don't know. I just need to...hope and pray I guess?


What else can be done. I'm on my medication. I'm sleeping. I'm eating. I'm taking my multivitamins. I'm still feeling like I want to die after that. So all I can really hope for I guess is words of affirmation to prop me up, and like...time where I hope I can get better.


​I wish I was better.

Recent Posts

See All

I want to take back control of my life.

I guess it starts with writing a blog for the first time in like two weeks. Remember when my blog was daily? I sure do! Multiple entries...

I'm just so tired.

I'm tired physically. I'm tired emotionally. I'm tired mentally. Just...exhausted.

bottom of page