top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrianna Lewis

Well weebly is half-broke.

None of the images are loading pretty much so it bustedddddd.


I'll keep using weebly until it BREAKS breaks tho so I'm fine for now. It's functional. Broken and busted, but not BROKEN broken, if you get what I mean.


Anyway.


Obviously, a weebly issue I just now am having isn't what I am here to blog about. (Does make a decent intro tho.)


What I'm here to blog about is a change in my work schedule.


I went from closing on Mondays/Tuesdays/Wednesdays to opening--

From 9pm end, to 5:30 am start.


​Which is, uhhhh...literally the exact opposite.


It has a lot of pros/cons.

A ton of upsides, but also notable downsides.


I have the natural "body out of synch with timezone" thing. (Which I recently learned is an actual thing!) For me my natural bed time is 2 - 4 am or so, so like. I'm waking up at the time I was previously going to sleep at. Which is rough, and brutal.


I am not a morning person. So it is difficult.


I am going to miss the end of all the nightly streams I normally watch during that time--that or lose out on 6 hours of sleep.


Going to bed so early means not getting good sleep--even if I could get to sleep, my FAMILY is still going to be up. (That said they always are either up at the beginning or end so I lose sleep either way to be fair.)


I am far less familiar with the morning shift than I am the evening shift.


It's harder to work in a workout during work and impossible to do before work.

I can't really eat my preferred breakfast, or much of a breakfast at all.

I need far far far more coffee in a day and caffeine in general.

The drive home is far more dangerous than normal.

Going outside in mornings is far scarier than coming home; we live in the woods, so being attacked by a creature is not unrealistic.


And so on and so forth.


...But there are notable upsides, too.


It's two hours of extra pay, per day. (Well, sadly 15 minutes less. So not quite.) Given minimal wage is $20/hour, that means nearly $60 extra per week. Which adds up.


​You might think that means less free time, but actually, no; I mathed it out! I actually get ~2 hours of extra free time! I get ~6 hours of sleep regardless, but when working the afternoon-evening shift, it doesn't matter when I get up; I spend the entire time prepping for work (even if not, I am in the mindset of prepping for work which means not doing things that I think get in the way of that), which means that my only true free time is after work. Given free time starts at ~10 pm with the evening closer shift, that means 4-6 hours of free time.


Given free time starts at ~2 pm with the morning shift, that means 7-10 hours of free time.


It gives at least equal access to workouts, too, but mentally it's easier. When I do morning pre-work workouts I am in the mindset of rushing to work (see also, the above about no matter when I get up I always think about going to work). When I do an afternoon workout I might have the mindset of getting home from work, but otherwise, I have free time to do what I want, when I want.


Both the main streamers I watch stream on those days, and I can catch the beginnings of their streams--since they both start with chatting before going into the game, yet the game is what I find less interesting/more mindless (welllll, most of the time), that means I'm going to be around for the part I like more and miss the part I like less. (I like both, to be clear. I don't want to miss either, to be clear. But given the choice where if I MUST catch one or the other, catching the talk is better than catching the game for me.)


It allows me to catch streams that I normally can't catch, and I won't be missing many--most late night streams I catch are explicitly "extras", where I'll watch them but I'm not really watching them. Most morning streams I want to catch are friends and friends of friends and associates and such that I do​ want to catch.


At work during the evenings, I am always asked to do tasks and given nothing in return. I also have extra responsibility that I should live up to but often don't, via being the experienced guard who should be leading. (My leading style being fairly ineffective. I need to change it, but I lead by doing all the work the "right" way, rather than delegating and teaching. Delegating and teaching is the leadership style I need to learn tho.)

During the mornings, I am given free drink and occasionally free food, and while I am still asked to do things, this also comes with the benefit of teaching me things I needed to know.


At work during the evenings, there's hectic stuff going on like family swim and kids lessons, neither of which I will truly be good at guarding for because family is sensory overload and swim lessons, I as a lifeguard have no clue about anything in them.


At mornings, there's lap swim (I know how to handle that) and water fitness--which allows me to dance. Dancing gives extra workouts, too. I dance to the music, which actually helps me guard better because music has rhythm and rhythm brings with it regularity in scanning.


All in all, the ups do outweigh the downs, at least in theory.


But it does​ require a huge adjustment.


My hope is that I can effectively trick my body into effectively accepting the shift fairly easily.

"Oh, you're waking up at the time you normally go to sleep, I guess that's an all-nighter after having taken a nap."

When said '''nap''' was 6 hours, that mindset might be able to make me sleep easier and better.


Tonight's the first true test of it (tomorrow should've been but I cut my sleep by staying up too late), so we'll have to see.


In theory, once I get used to it, I think that I should be able to get 6 hours of sleep and get things done. We'll have to see. After I eat my dinner tonight, it's bed time for me so wish me luck! (I'll need it. Desperately.)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page